Erin Boynton (second from right), the Tournament Physician responsible last year for the overall medical care of the WTA’s Rogers Cup/Toronto tournament, was chosen to receive the World Tennis Association’s Irving Glick Award of Excellence. This is the WTA Sport Sciences and Medicine Department highest honor, which is in memory of the accomplishments of Dr. Glick, the Chief Medical Officer for the US Open for over 20 years.


Erin is an orthopaedic surgeon, expert medical witness, consultant to the Toronto Blue Jays, and past-chair of the research committee for the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation. Throughout her career as a surgeon and sports doctor, she has worked with many professional sports teams, including the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Toronto Argos, and she was the first female orthopaedic surgeon to work in the MLB and NHL. For the last 16 years, she has acted as the Medical Director for the Rogers Cup WTA tennis tour. Dr. Boynton has also worked as assistant professor of surgery and physical therapy at the University of Toronto, and is the co-author of over thirty academic papers.


She has lectured at hospitals, universities, and conferences around the globe, and is the recipient of multiple research grants, honors, and awards, including the J. Edouard Samson Award which recognizes the best career orthopaedic research in Canada. In addition to treating thousands of professional and amateur athletes as a doctor, Dr. Boynton is also a championship tennis player who has represented Canada on multiple World Cup teams, and is currently ranked 13th in the world in the W55 category.

Carol Clay of Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, has been appointed to the ITF Seniors Committee (2018-2019) and is the NSWTA’s sole member on this committee, as well as the USTA International Committee. You can reach her at with your suggestions and questions.

Trish Faulkner was recently appointed to the USPTA National Board of Directors.